firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Re: firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Postby Jarre » 29 Nov 2010, 18:20

> Jarre, It is possible to make this firmware with included Opera an Youtube?

Nope, i'll tried before, but after i packed the .IMG file it won't install on the HD2. And i NOT own a HD2 to try.
Jarre
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 17 Oct 2010, 17:20

Re: firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Postby FarVoice » 29 Nov 2010, 18:31

In original FW present checksum on the end of file :(
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Postby premiso » 29 Nov 2010, 20:15

Ok, so here were my experiences from this release:

All seemed to work "ok". Unfortunately still had the same issues with network (Linux nfs shared) where it sorted all the files by Date Added and not A-Z with no way to change that. This has made me go back to the 1.33N firmware. I would rather have organization then a disorganized system. The O!direct would have made everything "Better than ok" if it did not have the simple flaws of having to be on a 32bit build of Windows and the fact that the computer interacting with the O!Play had to stay on the entire time, sure I could setup a headless VM with VNC/RDP, but what a pain in the butt.

For me, since I do not use the ASUS as my NAS (it was meant to be my media player) the extra features, such as SAMBA / FTP / BitTorrent were not a plus nor needed. In the end, what you guys have done with this HD2 was great, unfortunately it was not for my needs. Simply posting this for anyone else who might be interested :) If, however, it fixed the small fonts on the filesystem, that would make everything so worth it! I will keep an eye out and probably test new releases as they come out hoping for a better tomorrow!

Again thanks for all the hardwork you guys put into it.
premiso
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 28 Nov 2010, 00:16

Re: firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Postby goodman » 30 Nov 2010, 01:51

premiso wrote:
Olegin wrote:To premiso: Like in 1.11.03, but with a little differens. Link is in the first post about 1.11.03.


This is exactly what I need! Unfortunately, I run Linux and my wife runs W7 x64. I find it insane that they did not make it for x64 architecture. Do you by chance know the command lines to send a file to the O!Play, been searching for the past hour trying to figure it out, but no luck. Even tried running it with Compatibility mode for XP, still no luck there.

Be nice to know how to send a file manually, then I can easily cook up a script to make it work on Linux and any version of Windows. Thanks!


I have installed O!direct on a WIndows 7 32 bit Ultra edition; I got server failed to start error message when trying to run O!direct. Btw, what is O!direct?
goodman
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 17 Nov 2010, 11:40

Re: firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Postby sman » 30 Nov 2010, 02:02

Jarre wrote:here are the original files of the firmware

ONLY FOR HD2 USERS, SEEMS LIKE THIS FIRMWARE HAVE WIFI


DO NOT INSTALL THIS ON OPLAY R1 OR R3!

included:

O!Direct-HD2-V01.12.04.zip
O!Direct-PC-Install-1126.zip

download link: http://www.sendspace.com/file/nwknzo



Jarre

I own a HD2 thats recently upgraded to 1.11.04 firmware from asus. Can I use these files to upgrade HD2? Would I be able to use 'you tube' and 'opera' from this version?

I read few threads on this forum, and most of discussions are to do with R1/R3 rather than HD2. And most of answers to do with HD2 seem to be saying 'you don't own HD2'. Is there anything I can help?

In the official asus 01.11.04 version, '/usr/local/bin/opera_home' folder exists. Is there a way I can use the browser by tweaking files on the firmware? I am reasonably familiar with Linux, so please provide me instructions on files that I need to change.

Thanks
sman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 01:52

Re: firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Postby FarVoice » 30 Nov 2010, 02:21

sman wrote:I own a HD2 thats recently upgraded to 1.11.04 firmware from asus. Can I use these files to upgrade HD2? Would I be able to use 'you tube' and 'opera' from this version?

I read few threads on this forum, and most of discussions are to do with R1/R3 rather than HD2. And most of answers to do with HD2 seem to be saying 'you don't own HD2'. Is there anything I can help?

In the official asus 01.11.04 version, '/usr/local/bin/opera_home' folder exists. Is there a way I can use the browser by tweaking files on the firmware? I am reasonably familiar with Linux, so please provide me instructions on files that I need to change.
Thanks


Original FW has checksum on the end of file. Any manipulations with it delete this summ.
On flashed FW any changes are not possible because the filesystem of root is squashfs.
Try to flash pathed FW for R1/R3 though Reset button, or "Soft Reset" (see viewtopic.php?f=12&t=88)
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Postby sman » 30 Nov 2010, 02:57

What you mean by "Any manipulations with it delete this summ.". Mean time I will try R1/R3 firmware using the 'soft reset' or 'reset' button.

If I fail to upgrade using R1/R3 FW or if it creashes, would I be able to go back to 01.11.04 on HD2? Or is it going to brick the HD2?

Thanks

Update:

One more thing, links provided viewtopic.php?f=12&t=88 and viewtopic.php?f=12&t=98 are for boot code 17 and earlier (and boot code 17 to 23). Mine is on boot ocde 26, so can I try instructions mentioned there?

So, is it OK to try the following by downloading 01.12.04b FW for R1/R3?

1. put install.img into usb flash drive, formatted in fat filesystem
2. telnet device and type command
echo " " | dd of=/dev/mtdblock/0 bs=2048 seek=8192
3. put usb flash drive into usb port and type reboot in telnet session
sman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 01:52

Re: firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Postby FarVoice » 30 Nov 2010, 04:56

sman wrote:What you mean by "Any manipulations with it delete this summ.". Mean time I will try R1/R3 firmware using the 'soft reset' or 'reset' button.

If I fail to upgrade using R1/R3 FW or if it creashes, would I be able to go back to 01.11.04 on HD2? Or is it going to brick the HD2?

One more thing, links provided viewtopic.php?f=12&t=88 and viewtopic.php?f=12&t=98 are for boot code 17 and earlier (and boot code 17 to 23). Mine is on boot ocde 26, so can I try instructions mentioned there?

So, is it OK to try the following by downloading 01.12.04b FW for R1/R3?

1. put install.img into usb flash drive, formatted in fat filesystem
2. telnet device and type command
echo " " | dd of=/dev/mtdblock/0 bs=2048 seek=8192
3. put usb flash drive into usb port and type reboot in telnet session

Manipulation - I mean unpack image, introduction of changes and pack.

Yes, you right. Just such a sequence of flashing.

And finally, an excerpt from the Asus instructions:
Emergency Recovery Instructions.
If the O!Play accidentally shut down during the firmware upgrade, the safe mode will enable the
O!Play to be re-upgraded. you can to restart the Safe Mode Upgrade.
Please follow the steps below:
1.While pressing the reset button (The reset button is located on the rear panel.
Use a pointed object to press this button), Disconnect DC plug. wait 5 seconds and
reconnect DC plug of the Power adapter.
2.The message will be displayed on the screen as “Preparing for update.
It takes a few seconds”
3. The Media Player will re-upgrade automatically. Repeat the procedure Until the upgrade
has been successfully finished.
ASUS O!Play R1 (amp_r12_vrtn), xTreamer Pro (amp_r12_vrt), xTreamer Prodigy (iNeXT 2.14 r2), IconBIT HDR12L (amp_r12_vrt), 3Q F425HW (xds42gl_7725_r3), MyGica A11 (mygica_m3_20121222)
User avatar
FarVoice
Администратор
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 03 Sep 2010, 01:27
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Postby sman » 30 Nov 2010, 18:07

FarVoice wrote:Manipulation - I mean unpack image, introduction of changes and pack.

Yes, you right. Just such a sequence of flashing.

And finally, an excerpt from the Asus instructions:
Emergency Recovery Instructions.
If the O!Play accidentally shut down during the firmware upgrade, the safe mode will enable the
O!Play to be re-upgraded. you can to restart the Safe Mode Upgrade.
Please follow the steps below:
1.While pressing the reset button (The reset button is located on the rear panel.
Use a pointed object to press this button), Disconnect DC plug. wait 5 seconds and
reconnect DC plug of the Power adapter.
2.The message will be displayed on the screen as “Preparing for update.
It takes a few seconds”
3. The Media Player will re-upgrade automatically. Repeat the procedure Until the upgrade
has been successfully finished.


Hm.... I tried 01.12.04b for HD2, which worked fine and upgraded the HD2 without any issues. However when I tried 01.12.04b for R1/R3 with instruction we discussed, it stopped on the screen 'Preparing for update. It takes a few seconds.' for few minutes without any progress.

And then I tried the 'emergency recovery instructions' using the safe mode you mentioned, and it still stops at 'Preparing for update. It takes a few seconds.' screen. I tried this three times already, and still no luck. Did I brick the HD2?

I haven't done anything with the bootcode 26? Is that an issue? Look like 'daffydk' had similar issue in the past viewtopic.php?f=12&t=113, and he seem to resolved the issue some how.

Thanks
sman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 01:52

Re: firmware HD2 v.1.12.04b

Postby jemshidh » 30 Nov 2010, 22:40

Hi,,

The System restarts frequently, any body else facing the same issue?

I have installed moservices on Air R3 on top of HD2 v.1.12.04b

Services Running:

IR Fake Remote Control Replacement
No Sleep HD2
Remote Control
Patched RootApp
SAMBA daemon v3.0.23c
SpinDown service
Transmission v2.12
vsFTPd FTP daemon v 2.2.2

I am also having issues with BT Torrent as it would not recognize my HDD even after connecting to eSATA

Cheers!!!!
jemshidh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Nov 2010, 18:23

PreviousNext

Return to About Asus O!Play

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yandex [Bot] and 0 guests