Problem with 4TB HDD

Problem with 4TB HDD

Postby douyi » 23 Apr 2018, 22:41

Hi there,

I was trying to hook up a 4TB My Passport and it didn't recognize it, after check with fdisk -l and found the system recognizes the USB drive but doesn't recognize the partition, I tried to format the disk to two 2TB partitions in MBR but it doesn't recognized too. Tried with another 2TB My Passport (older one), with MBR has no problem, GPT even I have 512b per sector it still gave wrong size so it can't recognize too.

I'm running on the latest firmware (r13) with pohd skin, then after read old posts, decided to try r11 that claimed compatible with GPT, it's okay with 2TB GPT but can't recognize 4TB version, doesn't matter it's GPT or MBR.

I know Linux has NTFS-3G compatible with GPT, is it possible we add NTFS-3G support to firmware?

Thanks!
douyi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 21:24

Re: Problem with 4TB HDD

Postby lymax » 24 Apr 2018, 18:35

for HDD over 2TB you MUST use GPT
you don't need NTFS-3G, if partition is less 2TB
--> you must make 2 partitions 2TB with GPT
Марсы: 2*Emtec Movie Cube S800H (amp_r12 vrtn + amp_r12 noGUI[NFS/Samba/FTP/Trans])
Сатурны: Iconbit XDS73D + eGreat R6S Pro (ампс + скин 3Dgui)
+ eGreat R6S Pro (ампс ногуй) + 2*eGreat R6S для тестов
Сеть/Инет: LAN / WLAN 300Mb / ADSL 16Mb
User avatar
lymax
 
Posts: 237
Joined: 12 Jun 2012, 00:10

Re: Problem with 4TB HDD

Postby douyi » 25 Apr 2018, 23:46

(cut) overquoting! Forum rules 4.19!

I tried GPT with one 2TB partition only (logical sector size is 512), two 2TB partitions and was not successful.

I also tried MBR with one 2TB partition and two 2TB partitions, didn't work out either.

My firmware version is v13, I installed amp_r12_vrtn_r7 first, tested not working, then using "USB upgrade" function from HMI upgraded to "amp_r13_nogui" (ordinary install version), then I upgraded and made sure all modules are latest.

Should I flash with original firmware, clear everything out then upgrade to "amp_r13_nogui" again?

Thanks!
douyi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 21:24

Re: Problem with 4TB HDD

Postby douyi » 26 Apr 2018, 15:19

I decided trying from earlier version, start from v10. And v10 works! It only recognize MBR thou, but I can live with that, so the maximum capability will be 8TB in MBR I think.
douyi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Apr 2018, 21:24


Return to About Asus O!Play

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests